Creating Groups and Administrators  Print-icon

Note: Only the GenePattern team can create groups on the GenePattern public server. To create a group, you must have installed a local GenePattern server (see Starting Your Own GenePattern Server).

The GenePattern configuration file GenePatternServer/resources/userGroups.xml defines groups and group membership. The Users and Groups server settings page lists all registered users and the groups to which they belong.

To create or modify groups, edit the userGroups.xml file. The XML syntax is simple but must be followed carefully. The rules are as follows:

Creating an Administrators Group

As shown below, the default userGroups.xml file defines one group, administrators, which includes all GenePattern users. Members of the administrators group have full access to the GenePattern server and all jobs run on the server. Because all users are administrators, the default GenePattern installation has no concept of “private” data.

<!-- map of users to groups -->
<userGroups>
<group name="administrators">
         <user name="*"/>
</group>
</userGroups>

To maximize data privacy, minimize the number of users in the administrators group. For example, add exactly one person to the administrators group and only that one administrator can view all jobs run on the server. Other users can view their own jobs and jobs that have been explicitly shared.

<!-- map of users to groups -->
<userGroups>
<group name="administrators">
         <user name="jsmith"/>
</group>
</userGroups>

Creating Other Groups

To create a new group, add a <group> element to the userGroups.xml file. The following edited userGroups.xml file adds a second user to the administrators group and creates a new group, mjones_lab:

<!-- map of users to groups -->
<userGroups>
<group name="administrators">
         <user name="jsmith"/>
         <user name="mjones"/>
</group>
<group name="mjones_lab">
         <user name="mjones"/>
         <user name="jdoe"/>
         <user name="sfederan"/>
</group>
</userGroups>

Renaming a group does not update shared analysis results. Members of a group can share analysis results. If you rename a group, from old_name to new_name for example, the users in the old_name group are now in the new_name group. Analysis results that they shared however were shared with the old_name group. Each user who shared job results with the old_name group should edit the share options for the job and share the job results with the new_name group.

<< About the Administrators Guide Up Modifying Server Settings >>

Updated on September 03, 2012 12:18